Splitifi
Wisconsin State Laws
Updated for 2026

Wisconsin Divorce Laws

Your complete guide to divorce in Wisconsin. Community property state with pure no-fault grounds.
6 months state / 30 days county
Residency Required
120 days
Waiting Period
Community
Property Division
$11,500
Average Cost

Understanding Wisconsin Divorce Law

Property Division

Wisconsin is a Community Property state.
Presumptive 50/50

Grounds for Divorce

No-Fault Only: Irretrievable breakdown of marriage
No-Fault Only

Child Custody

Wisconsin uses placement schedule instead of custody terminology.
Placement Schedule

Child Support

Uses Percentage of Income Model.
Percentage of Income Model

Custody/Placement Factors

1
Wishes of parties
2
Wishes of child
3
Interaction with parents, siblings, others
4
Adjustment to home, school, community
5
Mental and physical health of all parties
6
Availability of child care
7
Prior agreements
8
Amount of quality time with child
9
Evidence of abuse
10
Evidence of substance abuse
11
Reports from experts
12
Any other relevant factor

Spousal Maintenance

Temporary Maintenance

During proceedings

Limited-Term Maintenance

For set duration

Indefinite Maintenance

Long-term support

Key Statutes

Wis. Stat. 767.315
Grounds for Divorce
Irretrievable breakdown
Wis. Stat. 767.61
Property Division
Presumptive equal division
Wis. Stat. 767.41
Child Custody
Best interests factors

Recent Changes

2024
Placement Schedule Updates
Wisconsin updated placement schedule guidelines.

Ready to Navigate Your Wisconsin Divorce?

Get expert guidance tailored to Wisconsin divorce laws.
All 50 States Covered
Legal Expert Reviewed

We use cookies to understand how the site is used and, with your permission, for advertising and session recording. We never use them on signed-in pages. See our Privacy Policy.