South Carolina State Laws
Updated for 2026
South Carolina Divorce Laws
Your complete guide to divorce in South Carolina. Requires 1 year separation for no-fault divorce.
Understanding South Carolina Divorce Law
Property Division
South Carolina follows Equitable Distribution.
Fair DivisionGrounds for Divorce
No-Fault: 1 year continuous separation
Fault or No-FaultChild Custody
Courts consider best interests factors.
Best InterestsChild Support
Uses the Income Shares Model.
Income Shares ModelChild Custody Factors
1
Temperament and developmental needs of child
2
Capacity and disposition of parents
3
Preference of child if mature
4
Past and current conduct of parents
5
Actions to support relationship with other parent
6
Manipulation of child by either parent
7
Stability of each home
8
Any history of domestic violence
9
Any other factors
Spousal Support (4 Types)
Permanent Periodic Alimony
Ongoing support until death or remarriage
Rehabilitative Alimony
For training or education
Reimbursement Alimony
For career sacrifice
Lump Sum Alimony
One-time payment
Key Statutes
S.C. Code 20-3-10
Grounds for Divorce
Separation and fault grounds
S.C. Code 20-3-620
Property Division
Equitable apportionment
S.C. Code 63-15-30
Child Custody
Best interests standard
Recent Changes
2024
Child Support Updates
South Carolina updated child support guidelines.
Ready to Navigate Your South Carolina Divorce?
Get expert guidance tailored to South Carolina divorce laws.
All 50 States Covered
Legal Expert Reviewed
