Splitifi
New Mexico State Laws
Updated for 2026

New Mexico Divorce Laws

Your complete guide to divorce in New Mexico. Community property state with 6-month residency.
6 months
Residency Required
30 days (can be waived)
Waiting Period
Community
Property Division
$10,500
Average Cost

Understanding New Mexico Divorce Law

Property Division

New Mexico is a Community Property state.
50/50 Split

Grounds for Divorce

No-Fault: Incompatibility
Fault or No-Fault

Child Custody

Courts consider best interests factors.
Best Interests

Child Support

Uses the Income Shares Model.
Income Shares Model

Child Custody Factors

1
Wishes of parents and child
2
Interaction with parents and siblings
3
Adjustment to home, school, community
4
Mental and physical health of all parties
5
Past pattern of parental involvement
6
Any history of abuse
7
Any evidence that would suggest danger to child

Spousal Support

Rehabilitative Spousal Support

For education or training

Transitional Spousal Support

For adjustment period

Spousal Support

Long-term support

Key Statutes

NMSA 40-4-1
Grounds for Divorce
Incompatibility
NMSA 40-4-7
Property Division
Community property division
NMSA 40-4-9
Child Custody
Best interests standard

Recent Changes

2024
Shared Parenting Updates
New Mexico updated shared parenting guidelines.

Ready to Navigate Your New Mexico Divorce?

Get expert guidance tailored to New Mexico divorce laws.
All 50 States Covered
Legal Expert Reviewed

We use cookies to understand how the site is used and, with your permission, for advertising and session recording. We never use them on signed-in pages. See our Privacy Policy.