Splitifi
New Hampshire State Laws
Updated for 2026

New Hampshire Divorce Laws

Your complete guide to divorce in New Hampshire.
1 year
Residency Required
None
Waiting Period
Equitable
Property Division
$12,500
Average Cost

Understanding New Hampshire Divorce Law

Property Division

New Hampshire follows Equitable Distribution.
Fair Division

Grounds for Divorce

No-Fault: Irreconcilable differences causing irremediable breakdown
Fault or No-Fault

Child Custody

Courts consider best interests factors.
Best Interests

Child Support

Uses the Income Shares Model.
Income Shares Model

Child Custody Factors

1
Relationship with each parent
2
Ability of parents to provide guidance
3
Ability to assure interrelationship with both parents
4
Adjustment to home, school, community
5
Preference of mature child
6
Parents ability to communicate and cooperate
7
Any domestic violence
8
Parents involvement in decisions
9
Geographic proximity

Spousal Support

Temporary Alimony

During proceedings

Rehabilitative Alimony

For training or education

Reimbursement Alimony

For career contributions

Permanent Alimony

Long-term support

Key Statutes

RSA 458:7-a
Grounds for Divorce
Irreconcilable differences
RSA 458:16-a
Property Division
Equitable division
RSA 461-A:6
Child Custody
Best interests factors

Recent Changes

2024
Parenting Plan Updates
New Hampshire updated parenting plan requirements.

Ready to Navigate Your New Hampshire Divorce?

Get expert guidance tailored to New Hampshire divorce laws.
All 50 States Covered
Legal Expert Reviewed

We use cookies to understand how the site is used and, with your permission, for advertising and session recording. We never use them on signed-in pages. See our Privacy Policy.