Nevada State Laws
Updated for 2026
Nevada Divorce Laws
Your complete guide to divorce in Nevada. Only 6 weeks residency required - fastest in the US.
Understanding Nevada Divorce Law
Property Division
Nevada is a Community Property state.
50/50 SplitGrounds for Divorce
No-Fault: Incompatibility or living separate for 1 year
Quick ProcessChild Custody
Courts prefer joint custody when in childs best interest.
Joint Custody PresumptionChild Support
Uses the Percentage of Income Model.
Percentage of Income ModelChild Custody Factors
1
Wishes of child if sufficient age
2
Nomination by child of guardian
3
Which parent is more likely to allow frequent contact
4
Level of conflict between parents
5
Ability of parents to cooperate
6
Mental and physical health of parents
7
Childs physical and emotional needs
8
Nature of relationship with each parent
9
Ability to meet developmental needs
10
History of parental abuse or neglect
11
History of domestic violence
Spousal Support
Temporary Alimony
During proceedings
Rehabilitative Alimony
For education or training
Permanent Alimony
Long-term support
Key Statutes
NRS 125.010
Grounds for Divorce
Incompatibility, insanity, separation
NRS 125.150
Property Division
Community property equal division
NRS 125C.0035
Child Custody
Best interests factors
Recent Changes
2024
Joint Custody Presumption
Nevada strengthened joint custody presumption.
Ready to Navigate Your Nevada Divorce?
Get expert guidance tailored to Nevada divorce laws.
All 50 States Covered
Legal Expert Reviewed
