Splitifi
Nebraska State Laws
Updated for 2026

Nebraska Divorce Laws

Your complete guide to divorce in Nebraska.
1 year
Residency Required
60 days
Waiting Period
Equitable
Property Division
$10,500
Average Cost

Understanding Nebraska Divorce Law

Property Division

Nebraska follows Equitable Distribution.
Fair Division

Grounds for Divorce

No-Fault Only: Irretrievable breakdown of marriage
No-Fault Only

Child Custody

Courts consider best interests factors.
Best Interests

Child Support

Uses the Income Shares Model.
Income Shares Model

Child Custody Factors

1
Relationship of child with each parent
2
Reasonable desires of child
3
General health and welfare of child
4
Credible evidence of abuse
5
Parental fitness
6
Willingness to facilitate relationship with other parent

Spousal Support

Temporary Alimony

During proceedings

Rehabilitative Alimony

For education or training

Permanent Alimony

Long-term support

Key Statutes

Neb. Rev. Stat. 42-347
Dissolution Grounds
Irretrievable breakdown
Neb. Rev. Stat. 42-365
Property Division
Equitable division
Neb. Rev. Stat. 42-364
Child Custody
Best interests standard

Recent Changes

2024
Parenting Plan Requirements
Nebraska updated parenting plan filing requirements.

Ready to Navigate Your Nebraska Divorce?

Get expert guidance tailored to Nebraska divorce laws.
All 50 States Covered
Legal Expert Reviewed

We use cookies to understand how the site is used and, with your permission, for advertising and session recording. We never use them on signed-in pages. See our Privacy Policy.